As voted on by fans, three members of the Phillies’ family are now proud owners of some Internet hardware.

Pat Gillick, Charlie Manuel and Brad Lidge all won their respective races for executive, manager, and closer of the year in MLB.com’s annual This Year In Baseball awards presentation.

Lidge beat out the Yankees’ Mariano Rivera, 44 percent to 23 percent, while Manuel beat the runner-up Rays’ Joe Maddon as Gillick bested Boston’s Theo Epstein.

Icing on the cake, really.

Chase Utley’s deking throw to first and strike to home to nail Jason Bartlett was also named the top postseason moment. It is a great play, but I cast my vote for Matt Stairs’s NLCS home run.


Leave a comment

Filed under Offseason 2008-09

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s